The Spinal Column, the body’s primary support structure, is made up of thirty-three bones, called Vertebrae, which are divided into five regions. Each region provides stability and specific functions for the body. From the upper part of the body downward, the regions are: Cervical, Thoracic, Lumbar, Sacral and Coccygeal.

Each vertebra has four Articular Facets that form joints to connect the vertebrae. They are covered with cartilage to permit movement. Between the vertebrae are the tough, elastic Intervertebral Discs, which allow for flexibility. Muscles and ligaments extend from the outer walls of the Vertebral Canal to protect, stabilize and move the vertebrae.

At the core of the spine, connecting the brain to the rest of the body, is the Spinal Cord, the nerve fiber bundle inside the Vertebral Canal. The Spinal Cord utilizes Nerve Roots along the sides of the spine to transmit signals to other parts of the body.